Accessible Festivals Supports People With Disabilities With Virtual Auction
Beginning on December 10, 2020, Accessible Festivals will be hosting a Virtual Auction event to support their mission of creating more inclusive, accessible communities with music and recreation for all.
Accessible Festivals is dedicated to making live music and recreational events fully accessible for people of all abilities. By educating the public and bringing together like-minded organizations, the organization has made its mission to end the stigmatization involved with having a disability so that everyone can have the opportunity to have amazing experiences, regardless of ability.
Currently there are 61 million adults in the United States who live with a disability. 26 percent (one in 4) of adults in the United States have some type of disability across the country. The virtual auction event hosted by Accessible Festivals will celebrate the importance of music and recreation in all of our lives, featuring auction items for music fans across the country, including Coachella tickets and EDC (Electric Daisy Carnival) tickets. Additionally, the auction will feature
tickets to Accessible Festivals’ own Inclusion Festival, the nation’s first and only music and wellness festival designed to include and accommodate people with autism and other special needs and a variety of online classes and experiences taught by previous Inclusion Festival contributors.
While ongoing efforts continue in the civic, corporate, education, private, and non-profit sectors to ensure inclusive and accessible accommodations for all abilities, little has been done to ensure the accessibility of live music, entertainment, and recreational events. Accessible Festivals is committed to filling this void by providing resources, a roadmap, and model that encompasses, engages, and celebrates the inclusion of people of all abilities in enjoying the social, emotional, and health benefits of recreation and leisure experiences. Their in-person and
online Inclusion Festivals, ticket gifting program, and training and consultation services provide a robust and innovative approach to achieving this goal.
The virtual auction will provide critical funding, enabling Accessible Festivals to continue their mission and support the changing landscape of the music and recreation industries as COVID-19 continues to redefine issues of access and inclusion for all.
The auction opens Thursday, December 10th at 12pm EST (9am PST) and will run until Thursday, December 17th at 8pm EST (5pm PST). To sign up, or for more information, visit www.accessiblefestivals.org

Leave a Reply